Growing up

Back to the blog.  It has been quite a while since last I wrote here.  Feels like years rather than months.  My life now is much different.  I haven’t changed really as a person, but there are so many things I have tried or accomplished since then that I feel brand new. It’s exciting!

Back in September, I was job searching, living back with my parents, and muddling my way through the whole ‘growing up’ process. Now, I’m 2 months into a great job in marketing, live in a wonderful apartment downtown, and have decided to never grow up.

I don’t know if I’m allowed to post this, but this webcomic has been hanging on my bulletin board for the last few months.  http://xkcd.com/150/

Grownups are adults with responsibilities.  They have jobs, pay bills, do laundry, and cook.  I have always cringed at the idea of being part of this demographic.  Sure I’m 23, but can’t I still act like a 12 year old?  The answer always seemed to be ‘No’.

Finally, I have come to understand that the words “boring” and “depressing” don’t always have to go with being grown up.  Whereas I would feel frustrated by chores and responsibilities before, now I find them simply a part of my days.  Laundry is no longer irksome (prolly because the laundry is 2 doors down the hall instead of in a dungeon-like basement), and the kitchen is actually a fun place to be.

I will probably always act half my age (except at work of course) but I’m beginning to realize that growing up does not preclude child-like wonder, imagination, and fun.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have a load of darks to put in the wash…

 

Leave a Reply

